The Disordered Gambling Integration (DiGIn) initiative makes gambling problems and behaviors a relevant topic of conversation when treatment is already being provided for substance use and mental health disorders. Providers can address gambling and problem gambling through enhanced screening, assessment, awareness, intervention, recovery and health promotion strategies.

Mission:
To increase the capacity of substance use disorder and mental health treatment programs to address gambling and problem gambling through enhanced screening, assessment, awareness, intervention, recovery and health promotion strategies. To make gambling problems and behaviors a relevant topic of conversation within the broader substance use and mental health disorder treatment communities.


DiGIn Participating Programs and Contact Information:

  • Apex Community Care, Inc.
    • Roberta Stewart RStewart@apexcc.org
    • Jill Schoenfuss JSchoenfuss@apexcc.org
    • Kathryn DeFiore KDeFiore@apexcc.org
  • Connecticut Community for Addiction Recovery, Inc.
    • Brian Robbins brobbins@ccar.us
    • Cathy Bergren cathy@ccar.us
    • Geraldo Rivera Geraldo@ccar.us
  • CNV Help, Inc.
    • Jamie Calvano jcalvano@cnvhelp.org
    • Maria Coutant-Skinner maria.skinner@mccallcenterct.org
    • Joy Pendola Joy.Pendola@mccallcenterct.org
    • Ashley Beck abeck@cnvhelp.org
    • Carissa D’Amico cdamico@cnvhelp.org
    • Ramon Nieves Ramon.nieves@rnpinc.org
  • Natchaug Hospital
    • Heather Murphy Heather.Murphy2@hhchealth.org
    • Kate McNulty Katherine.McNulty@hhchealth.org
  • Recovery Network of Programs, Inc.
    • Brian Morris Brian.Morris@rnpinc.org
    • Alexandria Ranciato Alexandria.ranciato@rnpinc.org
    • Justyna Ferenc Justyna.Ferenc@rnpinc.org
    • Jen Kolakowski Jennifer.Kolakowski@rnpinc.org
  • The Connection, Inc.
    • Aleksandra Slaski alslaski@theconnectioninc.org
    • Alison Friar aefriar@theconnectioninc.org

Health Problems and Medical Service Utilization:

  • At risk gamblers more likely to receive emergency room care and to be diagnosed with: Hypertension, Obesity, Severe Injury, Mood Disorder, Anxiety Disorder, Alcohol Use Disorder, and Nicotine Dependence. (National Epidemiologic Survey on Alcohol and Related Conditions, Morasco et al., 2006)
  • Substance use disorders increase the likelihood of a gambling disorder by more than 4-fold. Over 20% of persons with sub stance use disorders have gambling problems. (J.Clin Psychiatry 2005;66:564-74. J Subst Abuse Treat 2014; 46:98-105.)
  • Compared to non-gamblers, older adult problem gamblers are nearly 7 times more likely to be smokers, 6 times more likely to have an alcohol problem, and 3.5 times more likely to have a drug use problem. (Am J Geriatr Psychiatry 2007; 15:301-13)
  • Persons with psychiatric conditions suffer from gambling problems at extraordinarily high rates, and up to one-third of persons with gambling disorder attempt suicide (Psychol Med.2008: 8:1351-60, J Clin Psychiatry 2005; 66:564-74., Am J Addict 2006; 15:303-10)